It has been several days since my last post. I've been busy with work, raising a family etc., etc.. Not collecting my welfare check, food stamps, FEMA check from a hurricane 3 years ago & whining about when is the federal government going to build me a new house because Hurricane Katrina destroyed it. This is where the youth of today get their outlook on life, it is very twisted. Now you always have exceptions to the rule, like the kids who still respect their peers & say "yes ma am" & "no ma am", but the majority fall into the "twisted" category. A fine example of this is the young man I rode on the elevator with at work the other day. He looked to be in his early twenties & I noticed he had the words "PIMP" tattooed on one forearm & "GANGSTER" on the other in big block letters. Now his day job of running a water hose on the wash crew was obviously just a cover to throw off law enforcement. I'm pretty sharp when it comes to spotting stuff like this, nothing gets past me. I couldn't help but think "Why on earth would you get that tattooed on yourself, especially where everyone could see it". The really bad thing is, I know this guy told some friends he was going to do this & they said "Hell yeah man, that's gonna be bad ass". Now I know what you're thinking, you just don't like tattoos. This is not true. I have a full traditional Japanese sleeve on my left arm & a half sleeve on the other, so there. I'm thinking when this young man is 40, this tattoo won't be so "cool".
I see adults(I say adults because at 18 your considered an adult)walking around, clothes falling off, underwear showing, fake bling shining acting like their "big pimpin". Who are they trying to fool? Most of them have no job & no intentions of getting one. They don't have two nickels to rub together & talked grandma into letting them drive her car to the mall. When I see four teenagers driving a fairly new Ford Crown Vic or a Mercury Marquis, it is a dead giveaway that they are "no working sponges" who have been booted out of mom & dad's house & are now trying to drain their grandparents of all the money that they worked for. They truly look like idiots!!! At least they do to me. When did teenage society start the change into what it is today? I believe change is good, but you have to keep it in check or it will get out of control. Then you get what we have today(see above blog). It was not like this when I was young & if left unsupervised, I fear it will only get worse.
Wednesday, October 28, 2009
Friday, October 23, 2009
Looking For Answers
Being born in 1971 & raised in North Louisiana I was able to experience the thoughts & concerns of a changing society. Even though in 1968 all forms of segregation had been declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court and by 1970, support for formal legal segregation had dissolved, the past was still fresh on everyone's mind, both black & white, well into the 70's & early 80's. Attending elementary school & junior high, I can still remember the white kids playing together & the black kids playing together. This was normal to me, I didn't question it, that's how it was. I was raised to believe the same thing most other Americans at the time believed, black people & white people are different. Fast forward 20-30 years, a wife & two kids later I accept the fact that society has changed. I myself have changed with it. I think shows like Jackass & South Park are hilarious. I am not raising my kids with the same beliefs as I was raised. I try to teach them that we are all equal,(just like society says) but even at 8 & 11 they know that we are not. It is like a sixth sense kids have & no matter what I tell them, in the back of their minds they know better. Isn't that amazing, even an 8 & 11 year old knows we are different. They see one group of kids treated one way & the other a different way.
For years I have had all these questions in my mind about things that people say & the way people think. Now I will not post everyone of them now, just a few & we'll see how it goes. People should be taught that education & hard work pay off, not that you can get food stamps, a welfare check, govt. assisted health care, section 8 housing & that you can live off of the people that choose to work. I work for my money, it's mine not yours. Question #1 Why would you want to take something that doesn't belong to you(i.e. my money)???
I believe you should be given a job based on the fact that you are the most qualified, the most educated & the most experienced applicant. Not because you fall into a certain class of citizens. Question #2 How could you be proud of a job that you got because of that???
I hear the word "equal" all the time. If we want to be equal, you can't differentiate yourself. I have never understood why in a country that constantly preaches the word "equality" we still throw around terms like "African-American", "racist", "minority", "affirmative action", "NAACP". As long as society chooses to use these words we are not equal & never will be because these words do not apply to everyone as they would if we were "equal" only to certain people. Question #3 How can a country be equal when people choose to differentiate themselves with these terms?"It's words like this that make us "different". Note the word "different" not equal!!!
I would really like for someone to give me some intelligent answers to these questions. Pay attention to the word "intelligent". I'm not trying to start some racial blogging war nor will I waste my time with anyone who wants to. I'm just a normal hard working family man who has questions about everyday issues.
For years I have had all these questions in my mind about things that people say & the way people think. Now I will not post everyone of them now, just a few & we'll see how it goes. People should be taught that education & hard work pay off, not that you can get food stamps, a welfare check, govt. assisted health care, section 8 housing & that you can live off of the people that choose to work. I work for my money, it's mine not yours. Question #1 Why would you want to take something that doesn't belong to you(i.e. my money)???
I believe you should be given a job based on the fact that you are the most qualified, the most educated & the most experienced applicant. Not because you fall into a certain class of citizens. Question #2 How could you be proud of a job that you got because of that???
I hear the word "equal" all the time. If we want to be equal, you can't differentiate yourself. I have never understood why in a country that constantly preaches the word "equality" we still throw around terms like "African-American", "racist", "minority", "affirmative action", "NAACP". As long as society chooses to use these words we are not equal & never will be because these words do not apply to everyone as they would if we were "equal" only to certain people. Question #3 How can a country be equal when people choose to differentiate themselves with these terms?"It's words like this that make us "different". Note the word "different" not equal!!!
I would really like for someone to give me some intelligent answers to these questions. Pay attention to the word "intelligent". I'm not trying to start some racial blogging war nor will I waste my time with anyone who wants to. I'm just a normal hard working family man who has questions about everyday issues.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)